Neko

Kirby with headphones

My Doomkit

My Doomkit

Jul 19, 2021

I've been meaning to write this for years now and I've finally got the motivation. Here's how I play and organize Doom and it's many, many mods.

This is a very old post, made before I made this blog.

Top Level Folder

I use this fork of ZDoom Launcher to launch mods, and create .zdl files to quickly open the games I want. Especially useful for conversions.

My WADs Folder

Here's how I organize my WADs. The IWADs directory holds all the classic wads to patch (Doom, Heretic, Chex Quest). The doom_complete wad was made with Wadsmoosh and contains all the classic Doom episodes.

Map WADs

For each WAD, I keep a folder with the name of the wad and in the folder I put in whatever came with the download. If it only comes with a wad file, I also like to add an internet shortcut to where I downloaded the mod from.

Source Ports

The Source Ports I have. I mainly use GZDoom and keep the rest for fun.

Utilities

Various tools I keep on hand.

standalones

The Standalones folder is where I keep the Doom mods that come as a standalone download with their own preconfigured engine or whatever.

POOM

I even keep a downloaded copy of the PICO-8 demake of Doom.

I want you to know that I encourage people to get into Doom mods. There's a lot of cool stuff out there. By the way, I also keep a similar setup for Build Engine games (Duke Nukem, Blood) and Quake. Maybe I could do a similar post on those.


Share this: https://obspogon.neocities.org/blog/posts/My-Doomkit/

Support me with Ko-fi and follow me on Twitter and Neocities to keep up with me, or subscribe to my RSS feed.

Tags: #old post #doom #videogames

Recent Posts

RSS

Support me